Quotes: Urtext edition

I can lay no claim to a monopoly on Urtext editions and welcome any publisher in this sphere as a collaborator in a great undertaking. If, as a result of my efforts, the unadulterated transmission of our musical heritage becomes the accepted practice, I will have reached the goal I had in mind when I founded my music publishing house, and in my own way will have expressed my gratitude to the great masters.

― Günter Henle (founder of G.Henle Verlag), Three Spheres. A Life in Politics, Business, and Music

Leave a Reply

